The Swatch Group is the clear overall winner at the 2014 edition of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG). Breguet takes the coveted “Aiguille d’Or” (Golden Hand) trophy with its Classique Chronométrie model, as well the Public Prize for its Classique Dame. The names of these models alone set the scene for the classical theme to this year’s awards, with the Swatch Group’s Blancpain and Omega brands taking the Ladies’ Watch and “Revival” prizes.


Breguet Classique Chronométrie, winner of the 2014 Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix

Breguet Classique Chronométrie, winner of the 2014 Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix © Breguet


Even beyond the Swatch Group, the classical theme continued with the likes of De Bethune and A. Lange Söhne winning awards, as did Walter Lange himself, who was awarded the Special Jury Prize. The “Petite Aiguille” Prize, awarded to watches costing less than 8,000 Swiss francs retail price, was awarded to Seiko’s Grand Seiko Hi-Beat GMT model, also a watch with an inherently classic design.

The only exception among the classical models, all of which will be on display at SalonQP in London next week, is the EMC by Urwerk. But even here, the primary objective of the innovative high tech found inside the watch is to demonstrate the excellent precision of a classic mechanical watch movement.

Here is the full list of winners of the GPHG 2014:

Aiguille d’Or
Breguet Classique Chronométrie

Ladies’ Watch Prize
Blancpain Women Off-centred Hour

Ladies High-Mech Watch Prize
Christophe Claret Margot

Men’s Watch Prize
Urban Jürgensen & Sonner Central Second

Chronograph Watch Prize
De Bethune DB29 Maxichrono Tourbillon

Tourbillon Watch Prize
Grönefeld Parallax Tourbillon

Calendar Watch Prize
A. Lange & Söhne Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar “Terraluna”

Striking Watch Prize
Hublot Classic Fusion Cathedral Tourbillon Minute Repeater

Mechanical Exception Watch Prize
Urwerk EMC

“Petite Aiguille” Prize
Seiko Grand Seiko Hi-Beat 36000 GMT

Sports Watch Prize
Zenith El Primero Lightweight

Jewellery Watch Prize
Bulgari Diva High Jewellery Emeralds

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize
Voutilainen Hisui

Innovation Watch Prize
Urwerk EMC

“Revival” Prize
Omega Speedmaster “Dark Side of the Moon”

Special Jury Prize
Walter Lange

Public Prize
Breguet Classique Dame