For the past eleven years, the "Hans Hass Award Committee" has acknowledged each year a person who has stood out through their work in the same pioneering spirit as Hans Hass, recognised worldwide for his scientific research into the underwater world, technology, arts and literature. The ceremony was held in Sanya, China.

This year the award recognises the individual achievements of Professor Cui Weicheng, the essential support of the "State Oceanic Administration" in the construction of the Jiaolong manned submersible, without which the project would not have been possible. It was for this reason that the committee and Blancpain decided to award a double prize for the first time.

M. Leslie Leaney, M. Jack Liao, Professeur Cui Weicheng, M. Marc Junod, M. Fu Wentao, M. Krov Menuhin

Mr. Leslie Leaney, Mr. Jack Liao, Professor Cui Weicheng, Mr. Marc Junod, Mr. Fu Wentao, Mr. Krov Menuhin

The committee, represented by Leslie Leaney and Krov Menuhin, underscored the excellence and leadership of the winners, as can be seen in the construction of the Jiaolong manned submersible and their long-term vision for exploring the ocean's depths.

The winners received a bronze plaque by the artist Wyland, which shows an image of Hans Hass. Blancpain also presented the winners with a Fifty Fathoms Bathyscaphe watch with a specially engraved case back with the inscription "2014 Hans Hass Fifty Fathoms Award".